Matoshri College of Engineering and Research Centre, Nashik Autonomous since AY 2024-25 <u>Minutes of Meeting</u>

Reference: Meeting notice ref: MCOERC/2023-24/1007 dated 4th April 2024

The first meeting of the Governing Body (GB) of Matoshri College of Engineering and Research Centre, under autonomy status, was conducted on Thursday, 18th April 2024 at 11.00 am at the meeting hall.

Following members were present for the meeting-

1. Mr. Kishor B. Darade

2. Er. Kunal N. Darade

3. Dr. Gajanan K. Kharate

At the outset, Principal Dr. G. K. Kharate extended a warm welcome to members present for the first Governing Body meeting under autonomy.

Item 1: About award of Autonomous Status to Institute.

Discussion:

Principal Dr. G. K. Kharate conveyed the members about autonomous status conferred to institute by UGC from AY 2024-25, and its benefits to the stakeholders. He briefed that the autonomous status of our institute grants the freedom to innovate in curriculum design, teaching methodologies, and research pursuits, fostering academic excellence and responsiveness to industry needs while maintaining rigorous standards of quality and accountability. He said that this status will empower the institute to adapt swiftly to emerging trends and challenges in education, ensuring the institute's continued relevance and leadership in the field.

The members Mr. Kishor Darade and Er. Kunal Darade acknowledged and appreciated Principal Sir's briefing on the autonomous status, recognizing its benefits to stakeholders.

Resolution:

Resolved that the institute will function as an autonomous institute from academic year 2024-25 in progressive manner by following all guidelines of UGC and NEP2020.

Item 2: Nomination (Selection and appointment) of esteemed individuals from Management(03), Industrialist/educationist (01) and teachers(01) on Governing Body.

Discussion:

Principal Dr. G. K. Kharate briefed the members about the establishment of several key statutory bodies, including the Governing Body (GB), Academic Council (AC), Boards of Studies (BoS), Examination Cell (EC) and Finance Committee (FC). Following points were discussed-

- For the Governing Body, the constitution includes Mr. Kishor B. Darade who is President of Trust as a Chairman and Principal, Dr. G. K. Kharate as Member Secretary.
- Four management representatives, one Industrialist or educationist and two teachers are to be appointed as members of the Governing Body of the institute. For four management representatives to be appointed as members of the Governing Body; one of them is Er. Kunal N. Darade- a secretary of Matoshri Education Society. Further, Mr. Kishor Darade proposed names of Mr. Ramdas B. Darade, Mr. Devidas R. Darade and Dr. Kangane as management representatives for nomination on Governing Body.
- One competent industrialist or educationist is to be appointed as members for the Governing Body to bring diverse perspectives and expertise to the governance and decision-making processes of the institute. Er. Kunal Darade proposed Dr. Sudhir Jadhav as an educationist.

• Two senior teachers and one admin officer are to be appointed as members of the Governing Body of an autonomous institute to ensure representation of educational expertise, student-centric decision-making, and faculty engagement in governance processes. Nominations of Prof. Dr. Varsha Patil, Dr. Shridhar Khule and Mr. Amol Nirgude were proposed to the house by Principal and members unanimously accepted it.

Principal, Dr. Kharate further informed the house that letters are sent to UGC, DTE, Mumbai and SPPU for nominating their members on the GB.

Resolution:

Resolved that

- Mr. Ramdas B. Darade, Mr. Devidas R. Darade and Dr. Kangane are nominated as members for the Governing Body as representatives of management.
- Dr. Sudhir Jadhav is appointed as Industrialist or educationist and
- Teachers of the institute, Prof. Dr. Varsha Patil, Dr. Shridhar Khule and Mr. Amol Nirgude are nominated as members of the Governing Body of the institute.

Item 3: Appointment of the Controller of Examinations (COE) to oversee and manage examination-related affairs.

Discussion:

One senior and competent teacher from the institute is to be appointed as Controller of Examinations to oversee and manage examination-related affairs. Nomination of Dr. Devidas D. Dighe was proposed to the house by the Principal as COE and members unanimously accepted the appointment. Principal Dr. Kharate conveyed that a separate joint account needs to be opened for examination related transactions.

Resolution:

Resolved that 1) Dr. Devidas D. Dighe is appointed as Controller of Examinations to oversee and manage examination-related affairs.

2) Separate joint account needs to be opened for examination related transactions.

Item 4: Nomination and appointment of four competent industrialists or educationists on the Academic Council.

Discussion:

Principal informed the house that four competent industrialists or educationists from outside the Autonomous College are to be appointed to enrich the Academic Council with diverse expertise from both industry and academia to ensure robust curriculum development, strategic planning, and academic excellence. He proposed names of Dr. Madhuri B. Khambete, Dr. Mirza Tariq Beg, Dr.Sunil Bhirud, and Dr. Sandeep Chaudhary and members unanimously accepted the nominations.

Resolution:

Resolved that following members are nominated by the Governing Body on Academic Council.

- 1) Dr. Madhuri B. Khambete, Principal, Cummins College of Engineering for Women Pune,
- 2) Dr. Mirza Tariq Beg, Professor, ETC Engineering, Jamia Millia Islamia University, Delhi
- 3) Dr.Sunil Bhirud, Vice Chancellor, COEP Technological University, Pune
- 4) Dr. Sandeep Chaudhary, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, IIT, Indore

Meeting Concluded with vote of thanks by Principal Dr. G. K. Kharate, Member Secretary of Governing Body with assurance that he and his team will implement autonomy in the best spirit and take the institute to a new horizon.

Action Taken Report_

Item No	Agenda Statement	Action Taken
1	About award of Autonomous Status to Institute	
2	Nomination (Selection and appointment) of esteemed individuals from Management(03), Industrialist/educationist (01) and teachers(01) on Governing Body	Members are intimated about their appointments as members of Governing Body
3	Appointment of the Controller of Examinations (COE) to oversee and manage examination-related aff	 Dr. Devidas D. Dighe is intimated about his appointment as Controller of Examinations (COE) Mr. Yelwande, Head Accountant is intimated to do the needful for a separate joint account opening for examination cell
4	Nomination and appointment of four competent industrialists or educationists on the Academic Council	Members are intimated about their appointments as members of Academic Council.

Dr. Gajanan K Kharate

Member Secretary

21st April 2024

PRINCIPAL
Matoshri Education Society's
Matoshri College of Engineering and
Research Centre Eklahare Nasnik

